US announces electronic device restrictions on foreign flights into the US

US Authorities have announced that electronic devices, including laptop computers, tablets and cameras, would not be allowed in the main cabin on non-stop flights operated by nine foreign airlines and bound to the United States from 10 airports in Cairo, Istanbul, Kuwait City, Doha, Casablanca, Amman, Riyadh, Jeddah, Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

The foreign airlines are Royal Jordanian, Egypt Air, Royal Maroc, Qatar, Emirates, Turkish, Saudi Arabian, Etihad and Kuwait Airways.

The Department of Homeland Security said passengers traveling from these airports could not bring devices larger than a cellphone, such as tablets, portable DVD players, laptops and cameras, into the main cabin. Instead, they must be in checked baggage.

This policy is in effect immediately and is in effect indefinitely.  Travelers should anticipate major delays when undergoing security checks.

The UK has put in a similar policy for flights arriving into the UK with a few differences with regard to airlines and country-of-origin.

See all News