President Trump issues travel ban on European foreign nationals entering U.S.

President Trump, in a Wednesday evening national address, announced a ban on travel from Europe to the United States for 30 days beginning Friday March 13 at midnight. The ban does not include U.S. citizens or citizens from the United Kingdom.

The Presidential Proclamation, which suspends the entry of most foreign nationals who have been in certain European countries at any point during the 14 days prior to their scheduled arrival to the United States.

These countries, known as the Schengen Area, include: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. This Proclamation does not apply to legal permanent residents, immediate family members of U.S. citizens, and other individuals who are identified in the proclamation.

American citizens returning from the impacted European countries may be subject to enhanced screening at specific U.S airports upon re-entering the country.

See all News